on writing badly

Hi Blog!

It’s not that I don’t have time to write. I’ve started about four blog posts in the past couple of days. It’s just that I start writing, and then after a couple of paragraphs I stop and think, “UGH! Nobody wants to read this.”

And I’m not being overly hard on myself. Seriously, the stuff I’m writing, you don’t want to read. It’s been awhile since I’ve been in the groove of writing so I’m really out of practice. Kinda like when you miss exercise for a few weeks, and when you start up again it seems like you have to start from the beginning.

I’m starting to panic though. If I’m going to start writing in the new year, I need to get all this crap writing out of my system first. You know, write every day, but the first batch will be crap. And it is.

I hope something good starts happening soon.

2 responses to “on writing badly

  1. elizabethannewrites

    Have you tried the technique of “Morning Pages” as in Julia Cameron’s book “The Artist’s Way” — three pages of free writing, whatever comes to your mind, uncensored. It may help to get you back in the groove.

  2. Maybe you’re being too hard on yourself. I’ll often think I’ve just hacked out something that no one will care about and those often turn out to be my most read and commented on posts. Go figure.

    I’d say just write what comes to you and toss it out to see how readers respond.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

Leave a Reply

