His Precious Imago

Wow.

Rachael’s challenge was a hard one this week! I’ll let you go to her link to read all about it if you wish, but I’m going to assume that if you read my story, you will pretty much figure out what the challenge is: to use four particular words (and a fifth in the title!) in a story of 200 words or less. I’ll let you guess what those words are. Click here to see a list of the Words and their Definitions.

And, of course, because I like to make things nearly impossible for myself, I decided to try to stick with my personal “challenge-theme” and keep it in the picture book format as well. (ugh.) AND, it’s 200 words. (!!)

Enjoy.  🙂

His Precious Imago

Once upon a time there was a man. He was an insecure little man who didn’t have much. But the one thing he did have was an imago.

The imago was huge. It was so big, it overpowered the man. It controlled his every move. The man gave all this power to the imago because he thought his imago was very, very important.

When the man looked at the imago, he saw his father. When he looked in the mirror, he did not.

The man did not like this. But when he wondered why he was so different from his father, as his imago clearly showed, all he found was a lacuna. It was an oscitating lacuna. The lacuna seemed to oscitate beyond what he could understand.

And when the man looked at the lacuna, he suddenly realized that it was filled with poisonous miasma.

And he knew the miasma could kill him.

So the man turned away from the miasma and the oscitating lacuna, and he let go of his precious imago, and to his surprise it floated away.

And in a moment of sychronicity, he turned, and glimpsed himself in a mirror.

And there he saw his father.

Please, if you liked my story, go to this link and click “like” below the link. I’m #43 on the list. Stories with votes win very cool prizes. But only vote once, please. I play fair.  🙂

28 responses to “His Precious Imago

  1. elizabethannewrites

    Oh, neat! I liked the twist at the end!

  2. Well done – I really like the storybook format of your piece. I also like the bit at the end about the man looking in the mirror and seeing his father.

  3. Interesting. And you were able to make use of the extra words multiple times and still make them work for you. Now that’s brilliance!

    Great job! 🙂

  4. Very well done and excellent use of the words. I like it!

  5. I like how he his father at last! Really good use of the words. I like the fairy tale feel of this story, too.

  6. This was great: “When the man looked at the imago, he saw his father. When he looked in the mirror, he did not.” So simple, buy so full of meaning. Great job!
    Mine is #3.

  7. I’m finding it interesting how many people are writing about fathers. Nicely done. Mine is #29

  8. I like that it reads like a fairytale, or a fable. Great use of the words!

  9. Perception shrouds reality too often. Love the theme in your entry. ~ Nadja

  10. Wow! I think you’ve managed to make iT sound like a picture book despite the giant words. Great job!

  11. Very interesting play between the image of child and father. ; )

  12. Wow, I liked how it came full circle. Well done on the challenge! I’m #34:)

  13. elizabethannewrites

    I particularly like the last two lines. Excellent!

    (I left a link for you in reply to your thoughtful comment on my worry-themed post. Thank you!)

  14. An original way of using the words. The fairytale/children’s story feel of the piece helps with this – like the way the words form such an important part of the story, rather than being surreptitiously slipped in.

  15. I love it! Excellent use of words with an almost poetic feel and a very deep message. Good work!

  16. Interesting! 🙂

  17. Very fun story! And seriously . . . those are some hard words to sneak in. But you did great. 😀

  18. This was really lovely clickerbug, you have made the words seem like part of everyday conversation, it has a picture book feel about it. Loved this.

  19. What a twist at the ending! Nice job.

  20. Good job. There’s a moral there. ; )

  21. Oh my gosh I loved it!! It was very intriguing and the writing was beautiful! Great job 🙂

    (I’m entry #113)

  22. Great use of the challenge words. I really enjoyed the fairy tale feel of the piece.

  23. Wow great ending; loved it!

  24. A story that turns back on itself, back in time. Amazing. Magical. Readable.

    Great use of words!

    #188

  25. Loved this story. A wonderful fable! Great job.

    #189

Leave a Reply

