Ten Things You Know About Me

This is a bit of a detour from where I thought I was going yesterday.

Just read Elizabeth Anne‘s blog where she took this from Joanna who was following Jessica‘s lead … and there the trail grows cold but it’s definitely going around the Campaigner circle. The idea is to post ten random facts about yourself, in order to get to know each other.

I’ve done this on facebook, where I love this particular meme, and if you’ve followed my blog you pretty much know a lot about me already because I’m an unapologetic “sharer.” I want to be known. And I want to know other people, too. It’s all about figuring out how the world works and how we all interlock.

So here are my ten random facts, many directly inspired by the facts I’ve read about others.

– I love using chopsticks (just like Joanna). When I use them in restaurants featuring Asian cuisine, I feel it honors the people whose culture I’m sharing. But it also shows that I’ve mastered the technique, that I’m open-minded enough to have tried something different. That’s important to me.

– I’m halfway to earning my black belt in Tae Kwon Do. I’m not doing this so much to compete with others, as I am doing it as a test of my own endurance. It’s a physical challenge, and physical things have never been my strongest suit.

– I love exploring my own genealogy. I am in fact using my own ancestors as characters in a piece of historical fiction I’m doodling around with. I love finding famous people I’m connected with. I don’t so much love finding out I’m related to infamous people. But I’ll bet we all are, if we just did some digging.

– I collect mugs. Mostly from places I travel to, but also as souvenirs from concerts and restaurants and Big Theatrical Productions, and also mugs featuring witty little life sayings I feel need to be displayed as reminders. And each morning I spend a few moments choosing *just the right mug* to put my coffee in to set the mood of the day. It’s a wonderful part of my morning routine.

– I’m an “early adopter” in many things. I have always been the one to introduce new technology/music/ideas to my friends. Yet I am an idiot when it comes to setting such technology up. I never did quite understand the Fax Machine. Stereo systems scare me, and if my printer quits talking to my computer … man, time to call in the resident Teenage Boy to fix it. That, and small gasoline engines. Ugh.

– Last year I traveled alone around Europe, from Paris through Germany to Prague (where I met friends) and then on to Zurich and Milan, Italy (where I saw my favorite band, MUSE, in concert) and then back to Paris. I’m pretty fearless that way. Perhaps I should be more afraid. But then life wouldn’t be as rich and fun.

– I was a pretty fearful kid. My motto has changed though, from my mother’s “be careful of what can hurt you!” to “I don’t want to live with the regret of not doing something because I was too afraid.” I like my new motto sooo much better.

– I am completely comfortable being alone with my own head. In fact, I can’t read while traveling unless I have to get something read and that’s the only time I have to do it. I love just looking out the window at the world going by.

– I love the taste of wheat. I’ve recently come to the conclusion that I’m gluten-intolerant. This sucks.

– My bucket list includes lots of physical challenges that I need to do just to prove to myself how strong I am. Jumping into an icy lake on New Years Day was on the list. It is now checked off. Riding in a hot air balloon (I’m afraid of heights) is also checked off. Running a mini-triathlon is still on the list. Walking a great distance over many days is still on the list.

Jumping out of an airplane is not. I’m not crazy, no matter what my motto says!

Can’t wait to read yours!

7 responses to “Ten Things You Know About Me

  1. elizabethannewrites

    Fantastic list! Thanks for sharing!

    I, too, am fascinated by genealogy. I get frustrated with it, though, because I don’t want to know just the names and dates — I want to know the peoples’ stories, and that gets difficult when one is going back a couple hundred years or more.

    And another point in common — I, too, have decided I no longer want to miss out on things because I was too scared to do them. I missed so much as a fearful kid. I like the new version of me much better!

    Looking forward to getting to know you on the Campaign!

    • That’s why I make up their stories for them. I’m sure I’d love knowing these people personally, but since I can’t, I get to decide who they were for myself. 🙂

      For instance … I have one ancestor in common with Jane Austen. I love to imagine that this great(x) grandmother of both Jane and I was an excellent storyteller, who would have been a great writer in her own right if only she had been given the right circumstances. Instead, I imagine a woman with potential who, for whatever reason, was not able to write. And therefore we don’t know her. I want to write this exact story someday. 🙂

      When I visit a museum, I get frustrated that I can’t “feel” the time period I’m looking at. I’m not sure what it is I want; I just know I feel an empty yearning to know/experience more.

  2. Muse is also one of my really favorite bands!

    Traveling alone is an awesome way to meet people.

    can highly recommend triathlons and long distance hiking… Love to try a hot air balloon 🙂 love your adventurous spirit 🙂

  3. Those are ten wonderful things. You’ve got me wondering about it now! And funny, the part about jumping out of a plane, lol. I really enjoyed this and I’m going to get out my chopsticks and try again.

  4. Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou clickabug your a gem…. heres my link..
    http://thepatientdreamer.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/okay-why-not-have-a-go-gulp/
    l have never done this before….
    Love your list and your blog… your a gem.

  5. Clickerbug, didn’t I say you’re an awesome writer! You inspire me to write my own book everytime one of your blogs is read. I started already about a week ago; but what stops me to continue writing is the sound of complaint in it. I go back & forth on this for the same reason; then it ends by ditching it in the garbage can.
    Other than that, we have lots in common. The best is that we have a positive attitude towards whatever life brings & we mold it to suit our needs even to make ourselves improve as a better person. Not everyone has that skill.
    I remember your travels. Was so proud of you. Not everyone can step out their door on their own & say “let my feet guide me to wherever it wants to take me”. There was a time I used to do that; but I’ve come to the point that solo is not fun anymore. Today there’s rules gotta follow, my own new rules…..and by the end of the day I’m just the last bird left behind by the flock.

    • I struggle a lot with what I feel is a complaining tone in my writing. Sometimes I stop and ask myself, “what can I delete, what else can I rephrase, so that this doesn’t sound so negative?” And I do and I end up with a good post. Other times I just stop and tell myself I’m not in the right frame of mind to write just now, and I put the post away into my drafts and let it sit. If when I come back to it I still feel it’s negative, then I’ll trash it.

      Hang in there and write what you need to write. Maybe the purpose of the writing end up just being personal catharsis. Maybe writing it helps you work through it. Maybe working through it helps you see a more positive side to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

