kelly writes (dot wordpress dot com)

So, after meandering around the kitchen this summer, twiddling with fresh foods  (I’m going to make corn ice cream today!), I decided to veer into an entirely new direction for awhile with this blog. I’ve joined a Writers’ Platform-Building Campaign run by Rachael Harrie at Rach Writes. I’m hoping this will be the nudge I need to get back into my children’s book manuscript and polish it up for marketing. God knows I’ve sat on it long enough. I’ve also got a few new ideas for stories, so I’m hoping this campaign kicks me into writer’s gear a bit. I’m not entirely sure what this campaign all involves, but I’m assuming I’ll do some writing projects and share encouragement with other writers who are doing the same.

Nevermind that I’m also producing/directing a show for the New Orleans Fringe Festival in November. With the crazy-impossible rehearsal schedule that show has imposed, I’m quite sure I’ll need a diversion in the downtime so that I don’t go crazy with stress. I’ll blog a bit about that too, in between whatever this campaign asks of me.

I know this blog has been more about me and my life than it has been about writing. Perhaps this campaign will temporarily change that. If you see me posting children’s stories, well … enjoy!

Oh, and if you’d like to join this campaign too, you’ve got until Aug 31 to do so. (I’m talking to YOU, Kris!)

(…and you too, Andrea Alban. Would love to see you on board, if you’re not already.)

6 responses to “kelly writes (dot wordpress dot com)

  1. Hi Kelly – fellow campaigner here to say hi and follow. I write picture books, mostly, but am trying to break out of my comfort zone and do some MG/YA. What do you write? Looking forward to getting to know you through the campaign 🙂

  2. I did it! I signed up! I have a couple of children’s books ready to go except for illustrations and confidence. I would like nothing better than to have them in my angelbabies’ hands for Christmas. Thanks, Kelly, for pushing me along!

  3. elizabethannewrites

    Hello from another fellow campaigner! Found you in the Picture Book group. It sounds as though this campaign will be a great source of inspiration and encouragement as well as networking. Looking forward to getting to know you!

  4. Another fellow campaigner here. What era(s) do you write your historical fiction in?

Leave a Reply

