The Camera Came!!

…and it scares me! Actually, the camera itself doesn’t scare me. It’s the thought that I have to upgrade my computer archival system (a long-overdue task, I admit) to accommodate the sheer size of the files this thing can produce! So, to that end, I set up the computer table upstairs, and am in the process of assembling the desk chair. Once that’s done, I’ll move the G5 into that room and set it up with the printer and a HUGE external hard drive, and get in the HABIT of burning DVDs and printing contact sheets. I’ll need to figure out which database system is most effective, and then I’ll need to (finally!) enter my old photos in and keyword them, burn them to DVD, and file them. Oh, I’ll also need internet on that computer, so I’ll have to figure out how to get that working.

It seems I also need to either upgrade Photoshop, or switch over to Aperture. AND then I’ll need to research and install a movie editing program. I also need to figure out how to use the movie feature of my camera.

As long as I’m doing that, I may as well set up my little light table and start taking studio shots, as I don’t know enough about lighting. Which means reading the photo books I already own. 

It’s not as if I don’t already have a lot to do….

One response to “The Camera Came!!

  1. I liked your idea about pictures of the city without art–like Ray Bradbury’s story about the butterfly that crushed in prehistoric times and depleted the future of certain colors.
    Have fun with the camera and good luck with the organizational system!

Leave a Reply

